Board & Volunteers

About our Board & Volunteers

Chapter Officers are elected annually to the Board at the November and December chapter meetings to serve January through December of the following calendar year. A call for nominations and a slate of candidates will be provided by the Board to the membership for elections.

In addition, members are encouraged to chair or serve on Standing/Adhoc Committees:

  • Chapter Membership
  • AEE Scholarship
  • Bill Gilbert Memorial Scholarship
  • Webmaster
  • Awards & Recognition
  • Historian
  • Community Outreach & Service Projects

If you are interested in serving as an officer, committee chair or on a committee, please contact us (via the link above) or by emailing any officer listed below. We welcome your participation and your ideas!

2023 Board Members


Phil Korest, CEM
Energy Manager, Meredith College

Vice President

Michael Lyda, PE, CEM
Technical Supervisor, Advanced Energy


Hadi Hussein, CEM
Energy Analyst, ICF


Ralph Taylor, PE, CEM
Building Systems Engineer, NC State Construction Office

Past President

Dale Cranford, PE, CEM
Energy Engineer, Piedmont Service Group


Committee Chairs

Kate Patterson | Scholarship Committee

Hadi Hussein | Student Chapter Committee